Penguins are perfect ambassadors for the conservation of our seas. They spend most of their time at sea, and they are widely distributed in the Southern hemisphere, from Galapagos in the north to Antarctica in the south. They are experiencing warmer water, less fish and more pollution. Monitoring the health of the penguins gives us an indicator of the ocean health.

There are 18 different species of penguins. The largest living penguin is the Emperor penguin standing 1.1 m tall and weight 35 kg or more, and the smallest penguin is the little blue penguin only stands around 40 cm and weight 1 kg. Each penguin species has their own specialities, and on this page you can learn more about them. We will upload information about each of the species – first out is the Galapagos penguin.


The rarest penguin with 1000 breeding birds.
Living around Galapagos at the equator.

Read more

Other penguin species we will feature are:

Emperor penguin
King penguin
Royal penguin
Macaroni penguin
Adelie penguin
Gentoo penguin
Chinstrap penguin
Southern rockhopper penguin
Northern rockhopper penguin
Snares penguin
Erect-crested penguin
Fiordland crested penguin
Yellow-eyed penguin
Little blue penguin
African penguin
Magellanic penguin
Humbolt penguin